The Arts Diary

Theatres and other venues are asking audiences to observe caution, often by means of masks and distancing.  Some venues are organising specific socially distanced performances. Rules may change. Look out for the latest regulations, but book quickly. Here is the FTR list right up until the end of the year and beyond, and we’ll add to it as soon as new plays, dance, concerts, comedy and other events are announced. Most events MUST be booked in advance.

 

******

 

Updated Monday 27th September, 10.30pm

 

********

 

Tuesday 28 September
BATH, Theatre Royal, National Theatre production of Beginning, to  Sat, 7.3o, Thurs/Sat mats 2.30: Ustinov Studio, The Natural Theatre Co in The Truth about Harry Beck, the play about the London Tube Map, to Sat, 8pm, Thurs/Sat mats, 3pm.
Forum, Ansell’s Les Musicals, Jonathan Ansell and Jai McDowall.|
BRISTOL,
Tobacco Factory Theatres, James Rowland in Learning to Fly, solo show, and Wed, 8pm.
KINGSBURY EPISCOPI,
Burrow Hill, Wassail and the Octagon Theatre in Apples and Angels, to Thurs, 6pm.
POOLE,
Lighthouse, Romeo and Juliet with Lily James and Richard Madden, encore screening, 7.30.
SALISBURY, Playhouse, John Godber’s September in the Rain, to 9 Oct.
SOUTHAMPTON, Mayflower, Think Floyd – Through the Wall, 7.30.
YEOVIL, Octagon, Tavaziva in Boy’s Khaya, contemporary dance, 7.30.

 

Wednesday 29 September
BATH, Forum, Calling Planet Earth, New Romantic symphony, music of Duran Duran, Spandeau Ballet, Human League, Ultravox, etc.
SOUTHAMPTON, Mayflower, The Bowie Experience.
WEYMOUTH, Pavilion, As One in Mary Anning – Lost in Time, 7.30.
YEOVIL, Octagon, Magic of Motown, 7.30.

 

Thursday 30 September
BATH, Forum, The Sound of Springsteen.
EXETER, Barnfield Theatre, As One in Mary Anning – Lost in Time, 7.30.
FROME, Cheese and Grain, From the Jam.
LYME REGIS, Marine Theatre, Lloyd Griffith, Not Just a Pretty Face, comedy, 8pm.
POOLE, Lighthouse, Simon and Garfunkel Story, 7.30: The Last Inklings, folk, 8.
SOUTHAMPTON, Mayflower, Believe: The Cher Songbook, 7.30.
TAUNTON, Bishop’s Hull Hub, Concerts in the West, Emma Halnan, flute, and the Eblana String Trio, Mozart, Beethoven, Viotti, Finzi, Villa-Lobos, etc, 7.30.
YEOVIL, Octagon, Steve Steinman’s Anything for Love – the Meatloaf Story, 7.30.
Westlands, John Lydon, I Could be Wrong – I Could be Right, 7.30.

Friday 1 October
BATH,
Forum, Patti Smith, Bath Festival event.
Widcombe Social Club, Janine Harouni, comedy, 7.30.
 Theatre Royal, the egg, Cubic Feet and Little Angel in The Dong with the Luminous Nose, 1pm, and Sat 11am, 2 and 4.30pm.
BRIDPORT,
Arts Centre, Concerts in the West, Emma Halnan, flute, and the Eblana String Trio, Mozart, Beethoven, Viotti, Finzi, Villa-Lobos, etc, 11.30am.
ILMINSTER,
Arts Centre, Concerts in the West, Emma Halnan, flute, and the Eblana String Trio, Mozart, Beethoven, Viotti, Finzi, Villa-Lobos, etc, 8pm.
TWO MOORS FESTIVAL,
various venues, to 10 Oct.
YEOVIL, Octagon, The Best of That’ll be the Day, and Sat, 7.30.

 

Saturday 2 October
CREWKERNE, The Dance House, Concerts in the West, Emma Halnan, flute, and the Eblana String Trio, Mozart, Beethoven, Viotti, Finzi, Villa-Lobos, etc, 7.30.
STURMINSTER NEWTON,
The Exchange, As One in Mary Anning – Lost in Time, 7.30.
WARMINSTER, Athenaeum, Centre Stage in All Aboard, and Sun, mats and eves.

 

Sunday 3 October
UPWEY,
St Laurence Church, Concerts in the West, Emma Halnan, flute, and the Eblana String Trio, Mozart, Beethoven, Viotti, Finzi, Villa-Lobos, etc, 3pm.

Tuesday 5 October
YEOVIL,
Octagon, Bridget Christie in Who Am I? comedy, 7.30.

Wednesday 6 October
DORCHESTER, St Mary’s Church, Tenebrae and Christian Forshaw, saxophone, Drop Drop Slow Tears, ancient and modern settings, 7.30.
LYME REGIS,
Marine Theatre, As One in Mary Anning – Lost in Time, 7.30.
YEOVIL, Octagon, An Audience with Lesley Garrett, 7.30.

Thursday 7 October
BATH, Theatre Royal, Rufus Hound in The Good Life, to 16 Oct, 7.30, Wed/Sat mats 2.30.

Friday 8 October
POOLE, Lighthouse, Steve Hackett, Genesis Revisited.
YEOVIL, Octagon, Ian Ashpitel and Jonty Stephens as Eric and Ern, 7.30.

Saturday 9 October
BATH,
Theatre Royal, the egg, Roustabout Theatre in This Island’s Mine, play for children inspired by The Tempest, 11.30am and 3pm.
BRISTOL,
Old Vic, Wise Children in Emma Rice’s adaptation of Emily Bronte’s Wuthering Heights, to 6 Nov.
DORCHESTER, Sunninghill School, As One in Mary Anning – Lost in Time, 8pm.

Sunday 10 October
BOURNEMOUTH,
O2 Academy, Manic Street Preachers.
BRISTOL, Hen and Chicken, Diana Jones.
CHARLTON DOWN, Herrison Hall, Lawrence: After Arabia, pre-release film screening, 3 and 7pm.
YEOVIL, Octagon, Sinfonia Classica, dire Hans-Peter Hofmann, Dominic Degavino, piano, Holst, Mozart, Tchaikovsky, 7.30.

Monday 11 October
SOUTHAMPTON, Mayflower, Steve Hackett, Genesis Revisited.

Tuesday 12 October
PLYMOUTH, Pavilions, Steve Hackett, Genesis Revisited.

Wednesday 13 October
BATH,
Forum, Manic Street Preachers.

Thursday 14 October
BATH, Theatre Royal, the egg, HurleyBurley Theatre in Meet Me a Tree, interactive first opera, to Sat, 10.30 and 11.45am and 2pm.
YEOVIL, Octagon, The story of the Searchers.

Friday 15 October
BATH, Chapel Arts, Sounds Like the Seekers, 8.
DORCHESTER, Dorset Museum, Byron Wallen’s Four Corners, jazz, 8.
TINCLETON, Gallery, Ronan Magill, piano, and Sat, 8.

Saturday 16 October
YEOVIL, Octagon, YAOS in Back Together Again – a celebration of song and dance, 2.30 and 7.30.
Westlands, Chris Ramsey, comedy, 7.30.

Sunday 17 October
BATH, Theatre Royal, Frank Skinner in Showbiz, comedy, 7.30.
CHARLTON DOWN, Herrison Hall, Budapest Cafe Orchestra, 8pm.
YEOVIL, Octagon, Dr Richard Shepherd, forensic pathologist, Unnatural Causes, pre LitFest event, 7.30.

Monday 18 October
BATH, Theatre Royal, Adam Woodyatt and Gaynor Faye in Peter James’s Looking Good Dead, to Sat, 7.30, Wed/Sat mats 2.30.
YEOVIL, Octagon, The Classic Thriller Theatre Co in The Cat and the Canary, with Marti Webb and Britt Ekland, to Sat, 7.30.
Westlands, Fascinating Aida, 7.30.

Tuesday 19 October
SOUTHAMPTON, Guildhall, Del Amitri.

Friday 22 October
CHARLTON DOWN, Herrison Hall, The Unravelling Wilburys, 8pm.
LYME REGIS,  Marine Theatre,Geoff Norcott, I Blame the Parents, comedy, 7.30pm.
PURBECK FILM FESTIVAL, Various venues, tba, to 31 Oct.

Saturday 23 October
BATH, Theatre Royal, the egg, Stuff and Nonsense in The Gingerbread Man, and Sun, 11.30am and 3pm.

Sunday 24 October|
BRISTOL, Old Vic, Jayde Adams, The Ballad of Kylie Jenner’s Old Face, comedy, 4 and 8.
ILMINSTER, Dillington House, Mike Denham, Professors of Ragtime, Scott Joplin etc, coffee concert 10.45am.
YEOVIL, Octagon, Girls Just Wanna Have Fun, 7.30.

Monday 25 October
STOCKLAND, Village Hall field, Bash Street Theatre in The Strongman, ViA

Thursday 28 October
BATH, Theatre Royal, Noel Coward’s Private Lives with Nigel Havers and Patricia Hodge, to 6 November, 7.30, Thurs/Sat mats 2.30: the egg, M6 Theatre in Mavis Sparkle, 11.30am and 3pm.
Various venues, FilmBath Festival, to 7 Nov.
WARMINSTER, Athenaeum, Masqueraders in Oliver!, to Sat, Sat mat.
YEOVIL, Octagon and Westlands,  Yeovil Literary Festival, to Tues, various times.

Friday 29 October
BATH, Theatre Royal, Ustinov Studio, Nathaniel Hall in his play First Time, 8pm.

Saturday 30 October
BATH,
Forum, The Australian Pink Floyd Show.
DORCHESTER,
Dorset Museum, Kathryn Roberts and Sean Lakeman, On Reflection, folk, 8.

Sunday 31 October
BRISTOL, Old Vic, Nina Conti in The Dating Show, comedy, 8.
SOUTHAMPTON, O2 Guildhall, Billy Bragg.
TORQUAY, The Foundry, Newton Faulkner.

Wednesday 3 November
BATH,
Theatre Royal, the egg, Box Clever in Jekyll and Hyde, 1 and 7pm. 
BRISTOL,
Alma Tavern Theatre, As One in Mary Anning – Lost in Time, and Thurs, 8pm.
Marble Factory, Newton Faulkner.
YEOVIL, Octagon, Michael Portillo, Life: A Game of Two Halves, 7pm.

Thursday 4 November
YEOVIL, Octagon, Rat Pack Live.

Friday 5 November
BATH,
Theatre Royal, the egg, Josephine, new musical about Josephine Baker, to Mon, various times.
BOURNEMOUTH, Anvil, Chubby and the Gang, London punk.
CHARLTON DOWN, Herrison Hall, Jenny Eclair, Sixty!(FFS!), 8pm
YEOVIL, Octagon, Sh*t Faced Shakespeare in Romeo and Juliet, 8.

Saturday 6 November
BOURNEMOUTH, BIC, Fat Boy Slim.
YEOVIL, Octagon, Armonico Consort and Orchestra, Karl Jenkins’ The Armed Man, 7.30.

Sunday 7 November
BATH,
Theatre Royal, Al Murray, Landlord of Hope and Glory, 7.30.
BRISTOL,
Old Vic,
Hollie McNish, performance poet, 7.30.
O2 Academy, Suede.
CHARLTON DOWN, Herrison Hall, Ninebarrow, 8pm.
YEOVIL, Octagon, Paul Zerdin, Hands Freee, puppetry and comedy, 7.30.
Westlands, Seth Lakeman, 15th anniversary Freedom Fields tour, 7.30.

Tuesday 9 November
BATH, Theatre Royal, Mischeif with Penn and Teller in Magic Goes Wrong, to 21 Nov, 7.30, Wed/Sat/Sun mats, 2.30.
SOUTHAMPTON,
Mayflower, Grease with Peter Andre, to Sat.
YEOVIL, Octagon, Russian State Ballet and Opera House in The Nutcracker, 7.30.

Wednesday 10 November
YEOVIL, Octagon, Russian State Ballet and Opera House in Sleeping Beauty, 7.30.

Thursday 11 November
EXETER, University Great Hall,  Billy Bragg.
YEOVIL, Octagon,
Talon, The Best of the Eagles.
Westlands, Alice Roberts, Ancestors, 7.30.

Friday 12 November
BRISTOL
, O2 Academy, Billy Bragg.
YEOVIL, Octagon, Thank ABBA for the Music, 7.30.
Westlands, The Power Ballads Show, 7.30.

Saturday 13 November
BATH, Theatre Royal, the egg, Lyngo Theatre in Puss in Boots, 11.30am and 3pm.
BOURNEMOUTH, BIC, The Australian Pink Floyd Show.
YEOVIL, Octagon, BBC Big Band, The Music of James Bond.
Westlands, Show of Hands, Phil Beer, Steve Knightley, Miranda Sykes and Cormac Byrne, 7.30.

Sunday 14 November
BOURNEMOUTH, BIC, OMD and Scritti Politti.
BRISTOL, Old Vic, John Shuttleworth’s Back, comedy, 8.
YEOVIL, Octagon, Tina Live, with Julie Nevada, tribute show, 7.30.

Wednesday 17 November
BRISTOL, Hippodrome, Seasick Steve.
YEOVIL, Octagon, Lost in Music, 7.30.

Thursday 18 November

Friday 19 November
NEWTON ABBOT,
Abbotsbury Church, Lauren Housley.
YEOVIL,
Octagon, Uptown Joel, the music of Billy Joel, 7.30.

Saturday 20 November
BATH,
Chapel Arts Centre, Lauren Housley.
BOURNEMOUTH, O2 Academy, The Darkness.
YEOVIL, Octagon, The Story of Soul.
Westlands, John Bishop, Right Here Right Now, comedy, and Sun, 7.30.

Tuesday 23 November
BATH, Theatre Royal, Matthew Bourne’s New Adventures in The Midnight Bell, dance theatre, to Sat, 7.30, Thurs/Sat mats 2.30.
EXETER, Cavern, Chubby and the Gang, London punk.
FROME, Cheese and Grain, The Levellers.

Wednesday 24 November
BATH,
Forum, Marillion.
PLYMOUTH, Pavilions, The Levellers.
SOUTHAMPTON, Joiners, Chubby and the Gang, London punk.

Thursday 25 November
BOURNEMOUTH,
02 Academy, The Libertines.
BRISTOL,
Old Vic and Wardrobe Ensemble in Robin Hood, Legend of the Forgotten Forest,  to 8 Jan, various times.
02 Academy, The Wedding Present, Seamonsters 30th anniversary tour.
WARMINSTER,
Athenaeum, Limelight Players in Jeeves and Wooster in Perfect Nonsense, to Sat,  Sat mat.

Saturday 27 November
BATH, Theatre Royal, the egg, Squirrel, for 6 months to four years old, various day times, to 24 Dec.

Monday 29 November
BATH, Theatre Royal, SIX, to 11 Dec.
EXETER, University Great Hall, The Darkness.

Tuesday 30 November
BOURNEMOUTH, BIC, Pete Tong and the Heritage Orchestra, Ibiza Classics.

Thursday 2 December
YEOVIL,
Westlands, The Wurzels, 7.30.


Friday 3 December
PORTSMOUTH,
Guildhall Studio, Chubby and the Gang, London punk.
YEOVIL, Octagon, Mother Goose, with Gordon Cooper and Jack Glanville, to 2 Jan.

Sunday 5 December
BRISTOL,
Old Vic, Bridget Christie, Who Am I?  comedy, 8.

Monday 6 December
BOURNEMOUTH,
BIC, Madness, with Squeeze, The Ladykillers tour.

Tuesday 7 December
BRISTOL, O2 Academy, The Darkness.

Friday 10 December
BATH,
Theatre Royal, the egg, Five Children and It, to 16 Jan.
Saturday 11 December
TROWBRIDGE,
Town Hall, Katherine Priddy.
YEOVIL, Westlands, Christmas Party with DT8, 8pm.

Sunday 12 December
BRISTOL, Old Vic, Sofie Hagen, comedy, 8.
WARMINSTER, Athenaeum, Oddity Theatre in Robin Hood: the Panto, to 24 Dec, various times.

Monday 13 December
BATH, Theatre Royal, Ustinov Studio, New Old Friends in A Christmas Getaway, a frantic festive farce, to 8 Jan, 8pm, Thurs/Sat mats 3.

Wednesday 15 December
BRISTOL,
Thekla, The Longest Johns, to Fri.
SOUTHAMPTON, Guildhall, The Levellers.

Thursday 16 December
BATH, Theatre Royal, Jon Monie in Cinderella, to 9 Jan.

Friday 17 December
BRISTOL, Exchange, Chubby and the Gang, London punk.
NEW MILTON, Forest Arts, Lauren Housley.

Saturday 18 December
YEOVIL, Westlands, Back to the 80s Christmas Party, 8pm.

Thursday 23 December
YEOVIL, Westlands,  Christmas family disco, 6pm.

 

2022

Tuesday 4 January
SOUTHAMPTON,
Mayflower, Everybody’s Talking About Jamie, to Sat.

 

Tuesday 11 January
BATH, Theatre Royal, The Play What I Wrote, to 22 Jan.

Wednesday 19 January
YEOVIL, Octagon, Noriko Ogawa, piano, Mozart, Beethoven, Satie, Debussy, Chopin, 7.30.

Thursday 20 January
BRISTOL, Old Vic, Mark Rylance in Dr Semmelweis, to 12 Feb, 7.30, various mats.

Wednesday 26 January
BATH,
Theatre Royal, Peepolykus in The Hound of the Baskervilles, comedy thriller, to Sat.

Friday 28 January
BRISTOL, SWX, Purity Ring.

Monday 31 January
BATH, Theatre Royal, The Da Vinci Code, to Sat, 7.30, Wed/Sat mats 2.30.

Tuesday 1 February
PLYMOUTH,
Pavilions, The Kooks.
SOUTHAMPTON,
Mayflower, Bring it On, to Sat.

Friday 4 February
BOURNEMOUTH,
02 Academy, Echo and the Bunnymen.

Monday 7 February
BATH, Theatre Royal, Fatal Attraction, new stage adaptation, to Sat, 7.30, Wed/Sat mats 2.30.

Thursday 10 February
SOUTHAMPTON, Guildhall, Belle and Sebastian.

Wednesday 16 February
BATH, Theatre Royal, Griff Rhys Jones and Janie Dee in An Hour and a Half Late, to 26 Feb.

Sunday 20 February
BRISTOL, 02 Academy, Echo and the Bunnymen.

Thursday 24 February
BATH,
Roper Theatre, Bath Opera in Eugene Onegin, to Sat.

Monday 28 February
YEOVIL, Octagon, Armonico Consort, Baroque Players and Rachel Podger, violin, Vivaldi Four Seasons and Pergolesi Stabat Mater, 7.30.

Tuesday 1 March
BATH, Theatre Royal, Robert Icke’s production of George Orwell’s Animal Farm, to Sat, 7.30, Wed/Thurs/Sat mats 2.30.

Thursday 3 March
EXETER,
Corn Exchange, Tommy Emmanuel with Jerry Douglas.

Tuesday 8 March
SOUTHAMPTON, Mayflower,Les Miserables, to 26 March.

Saturday 19 March
BATH, Forum, Big Big Train.

Friday 25 March
BOURNEMOUTH, International Centre (BIC), Royal Blood, with The Amazons.

Thursday 31 March
YEOVIL, Octagon,  Hill Quartet, Mozart, Puccini, Turina, Mendelssohn, 7.30.

 

Saturday 2 April
BRISTOL,
Old Vic, The Meaning of Zong, to 7 May.

Sunday 3 April
BOURNEMOUTH, The Old Fire Station, Alabama 3.

Monday 4 April
SOUTHAMPTON,
Mayflower,  Fat Friends – the Musical, to Sat.

Tuesday 12 April
SOUTHAMPTON, 1865, Sea Power.

Tuesday 19 April
BRISTOL, O2 Academy, Sea Power.

Wednesday 27 April
YEOVIL, Octagon, Fenella Humphreys, violin, Martin Roscoe, piano, Brahms, Clara Schumann, Mozart, Lili Boulanger, Faure, 7.30.

Friday 29 April
BRISTOL,
02 Academy, Alabama 3.

Saturday 30 April
BRISTOL, 02 Academy, Gary Numan.

 

Thursday 5 May
BOURNEMOUTH, 02 Academy, Gary Numan.

Friday 6 May
PLYMOUTH, Pavilions, Gary Numan.

Tuesday 10 May
BRISTOL,
SWX, Ashley McBryde.

Tuesday 17 May
SOUTHAMPTON, Mayflower, Cluedo, to Sat.

Wednesday 25 May
YEOVIL, Octagon, Sinfonia Classica, conct Hans-Peter Hofmann, Vivaldi, Handel, Bach, Mozart, 7.30.

 

Tuesday 5 July
SOUTHAMPTON, Mayflower, Jersey Boys, to 16 July.

Monday 14 November
SOUTHAMPTON, Mayflower, Dreamgirls, to Sat.

Wednesday 30 November
SOUTHAMPTON, Mayflower, English National Ballet in Raimonda, to Sat.

 

Tuesday 3 January 2023
SOUTHAMPTON, Mayflower, The Cher Show, to Sat.