Arts Festivals

ARTS and LITERARY FESTIVALS  2022

Some of this years’ festivals have been cancelled or the dates changed. Check with the festivals’ websites for the latest information.

Updated 4th May 2022,  5.58pm

 

JANUARY

Bristol Slapstick Festival,  www.slapstick.org.uk26th to 30th January 2022

******

FEBRUARY

Bath Bach Festival,  www.bathbachfest.co.uk  Thursday 17th to Saturday 19th February 2022

******

MARCH

Swanage Blues Festival  www.swanage-blues.org     3rd to 6th March 2022

Shaftesbury Book Festival, www.shaftesburybookfestival.com 11th to 15th March 2022

Bristol Bluegrass and Americana Festival, www.bristolfolkhouse.co.uk. No information

 

******

APRIL

From Page to Screen, Bridport,  www.frompagetoscreen.org.uk   27th April to 1st May 2022

Bristol Folk Festival    www.bristolfolkfestival.co.uk.  29th April to 1st May 2022

Sherborne Abbey Festival, www.sherborneabbeyfestival.org 29th April to 6th May 2022

Lyme Regis Fossil Festival, www.fossilfestival.co.uk  30th April and 1st May 2022

 

******

MAY

Swindon Spring Festival, www.swindonspringfestival.co.uk   3rd to 9th May 2022

Dart Music Festival, www.dartmusicfestival.co.uk  6th to 8th May 2022

Wedmore Arts Festival,   www.wedmoreartsfestival.co.uk.   7th to 9th May 2022

Wimborne Literary Festival, www.wimborneliteraryfestival.co.uk  7th to 15th May 2022

The Bath Festival, www.bathfestivals.org.uk.   13th to 21st May 2022

Dorset Art Weeks, www.dorsetartweeks.co.uk  14th to 29th May 2022

Shindig Weekender, Gilcombe Farm, Bruton, music and comedy, www.shindigfestival.co.uk 26th to 29th May 2022  

Salisbury International Arts Festival, www.wiltshirecreative.co.uk  27th May to 19th June 2022

Chippenham Folk Festival, www.chippfolk.co.uk  27th to 29th May 2022

Bath Fringe Festival, www.bathfringe.co.uk. inc Bedlam fair 28th May throughout June and July 2022

Purbeck Art Weeks, open studios, music, literature: www.purbeckartweeks.co.uk  28th May to 12th June 2022

 

Wylye Valley Art Trail,  biennial event, open studios, workshops  etc   www.wvat.co.uk   Next in 2023

 

*******

No information

Od Arts Festival, East and West Coker@odartsfest  No information

Plymouth Fringe Festival, theatre, dance, comedy, music: www.plymouthfringe.com  No information 

 


******

 

JUNE

The Cursus Cider and Music Festival, Canada Farm Sixpenny Handley  www.cursusfestival.com   2nd to 5th June 2022
Exmouth Festival, www.exmouthfestival.org.uk  2nd to 5th June 2022
Jazz Jurassica, Lyme Regis, www.jazzjurassica.co.uk  2nd to 5th June 2022

Wessex Folk Festival, Weymouth, www.wessexfolkfestival.com   4th and 5th June 2022

Devizes Arts Festival, multi arts festival, www.devizesartsfestival.org.uk  10th to 25th June 2022

Wimborne Minster Folk Festival,  www.wimbornefolk.co.uk  10th to 12th June 2022
Chilthorne Domer Home Farm Fest,  fund-raiser for Piers Simon Appeal, www.homefarmfest.co.uk  10th to 12th June 2022

Green Sky Festival, Corsham, Pound Arts,  www.blueskyfestival.org.uk   13th to 19th June 2022

Isle of Wight Festival, www.isleofwightfestival.com 16th to 19th June 2022

Teignmouth Folk Festival, www.teignmouthfolk.co.uk   17th to 19th June 2022  (??)

East Devon Music Festival, various venues, jazz and classical music. www.eastdevonmusicfestival.org  17th June 2022

Petherton Folk Fest, South Petherton, www.pethertonfolkfest.org.uk   18th June 2022

Glastonbury Festival of Contemporary Performing Arts, www.glastonburyfestivals.co.uk  22nd t0 26th June 2022

Chalke Valley History Festival, talks, discussions, debates, living history encampment, air show, celebration of history, writing, www.cvhf.org.uk   23rd to 27th June 2022

Beaminster Festival, www.beaminsterfestival.com  25th June to 2nd July 2022

Farley Music Festival, www.farleymusic.co.uk  28th June to 3rd July 2022

 

No information


Bournemouth Emerging Arts Fringe  www.b-e-a-f.co.uk   No information

 

******

 

JULY

Frome Festival, includes world food feast, open studios, bands, opera etc www.fromefestival.co.uk   1st to 10th July 2022

Somerton  Music and Arts Festival  www.somertonartsfestival.co.uk  1st to 14th July 2022

New Forest Folk Festival, Plaitford nr Romsey, Powells Farm, www.newforestfolkfestival.co.uk  6th to 10th July 2022

Cerne Abbas Music Festival, Gaudier Ensemble www.cerneabbasmusicfestival.co.uk    7th to 10th July 2022

Jurassic Fields Music Festival, Bridport, www.jurassicfields.com  8th to 10th July 2022

Upton Country Park Festival,  www.uptoncountrypark.com  8th and 9th July 2022

Priddy Folk Festival  www.priddyfolk.org 8th to 10th July 2022
Swanage Jazz Festival  www.swanagejazzfestival.co.uk  8th to 10th July 2022

Budleigh Salterton Music Festivalwww.budleighmusicfestival.co.uk   8th to 16th July 2022

Bridgwater Quayside Festival, music, street and indoor theatre, carnival, circus, puppetry, dance, etc,   www.bridgwaterquaysidefestival.uk 9th July 2022
Somerstock Festival, www.somertonartsfestival.co.uk  9th July 2022

Harbourside Festival, free festival, street theatre, music, circus, food, historic ships, etc www.bristolharbourfestival.co.uk  15th July 2022

Godney Gathering, music, etc, www.thegodneygathering.com  15th and 16th July 2022

Southern Cathedrals Festival,  Salisbury  Cathedral, music, www.southerncathedralsfestival.org.uk  15th to 17th July 2022
Tolpuddle Martyrs Festival, music, theatre, talks, debates, processions  www.tolpuddlemartyrs.org.uk   15th to 17th July 2022

Chagstock Music Festival, Chagford,  www.chagstock.info  22nd and 23rd July 2022

Bridport Folk Festival, www.bridportfolkfestival.co.uk  22nd to 24th July 2022
Shaftesbury Fringe Festival, www.shaftesburyfringe.co.uk  22nd to 24th July 2022

Dorset Opera Festival, Coade Hall, Bryanston, www.dorsetopera.com  25th to 30th July 2022

Womad, Marlborough, Charlton Park. www.womad.co.uk  28th to 31st July 2022
Camp Bestival, Lulworth Castle, www.campbestival.net   28th to 31st July 2022

Garden Theatre Festival,  Holburne Museum Gardens, Bath, www.gardentheatrefest.co.uk,  29th July to 13th August 2022

FarmFest, Gilcombe Farm, Bruton. www.farmfestival.co.uk  29th and 30th July 2022

Sidmouth Folk Week, www.sidmouthfolkweek.co.uk  29th July to 5th August 2022

BBC Proms, Royal Albert Hall, London  www.bbc.co.uk/proms     30th July to 10th September 2022       

 

Larmer Tree Festival, Tollard Royal, www.larmertreefestival.co.uk  Expected in 2023

 

No information


UK Boogie Woogie Festival, Sturminster Newton, www.ukboogiewoogiefestival.co.uk  No information

Coker Festival, East Coker, music, local bands www.cokerfestivalofmusic.co.uk  No information

NewtFest, North Newton, beer, cider and music, www.newtfest.com No information

Poole Beer and Bluegrass Festival, Victoria School and Gardens, www.beerandbluegrass.co.uk  No information


 

******

 

AUGUST

Valley Fest, Chew Magna, music and food, www.valleyfest.co.uk  4th to 7th August 2022

Weston-super-Mare Sea Shanty and Folk Music Festival   www.wsmshantyfest.com  5th to 7th August 2022

Dorset Food and Arts Festival, Great Field, Poundbury, Dorchester, www.dorsetfestival.org  6th August 2022
Glastonbury Abbey Extravaganza, Paloma Faith, etc www.glastonburyfestivals.co.uk/information/glastonbury-abbey-extravaganza  6th August 2022

Dillington Classical Guitar Festival, www.dillington.com   7th to 13th August 2022

International Balloon Fiesta, balloons, music, food etc www.bristolballoonfiesta.co.uk   11th to 17th August 2022

Grooves on the Green, Ashley Cross Parkstone, in aid of Diverse Abilities Plus, www.groovesonthegreen.co.uk  16th and 17thg August 2022

Burton Bradstock Festival of Music and Art www.burtonbradstockfestival.com  16th to 21st August 2022

Purbeck Valley Folk Festival www.purbeckvalleyfolkfestival.co.uk   18th to 21st August 2022

Beautiful Days, Escot Park, Ottery St Mary, www.beautifuldays.org   19th to 21st August 2022

Edington Festival of Music within the Liturgy, choral and sacred music from 16th to 21st century, www.edingtonfestival.org  21st to 28th August

IfOpera Festival, (formerly Iford Arts)  www.ifoperas.org.uk    21st August to 18th September 2022

Victorious Festival, Portsmouth, indie rock fest, www.victoriousfestival.co.uk   26th to 28th August 2022

Watchet Music Festival, www.watchetfestival.co.uk   26th to 28th August 2022

 

 

******

 

SEPTEMBER

End of the Road Festival, www.endoftheroadfestival.com   1st to 4th September 2022
Purbeck Chamber Music Festival, www.purbeck-chambermusic.org.uk    1st to 4th September 2022    

Didmarton Bluegrass Festival, www.didmarton-bluegrass.co.uk  2nd to 4th September 2022
Lyme Regis Folk Weekend, 
www.lymefolk.com   2nd to 4th September 2022

Bridport Hat Festival, www.bridporthatfest.org  3rd September 2022

Once Upon a Time in the West, (deepest Wiltshire near Trowbridge) music, local beers and cider, www.outwestfestival.co.uk   3rd and 4th September 2022                

Swanage Folk Festival www.swanagefolkfestival.com  9th to 11th September 2022

Jane Austen Festival, Bath, www.janeaustenfestivalbath.co.uk  9th to 18th September 2022

International Agatha Christie Festival, Torbay, www.iacf-uk.org   10th to 17th September 2022

Budleigh Salterton Literary Festival, www.budlitfest.org.uk  14th to 18th September 2022

Priston Music Festival, www.priston.org.uk  16th to 18th September 2022

Bath Children’s Literature Festival www.bathfestivals.org.uk/childrens-literature 23rd September to 2nd October 2022

Somerset Open Studios,  www.somersetartworks.org.uk  24th September to 9th October 2022

Marlborough Literature Festival, www.marlboroughlitfest.or29th September to 2nd October 2022

Arts by the Sea, various venues, www.artsbournemouth.org.uk    30th September to 2nd October 2022

 

 

No information


B-Side, Portland, multi media arts festival, www.b-side.org.uk  Confirmed happening, no dates


 

******

 

OCTOBER

Swanage Blues Festival  www.swanage-blues.org    6th to 9th October 2022

Two Moors Festival,  www.thetwomoorsfestival.co.uk     6th to 9th and 13th to 16th October 2022

Mere Literary Festival.  www.mereliteraryfestival.com    12th to 15th October 2022

Wells Festival of Literature, www.wellsfestivalofliterature.org.uk   14th to 22nd October 2022

Dorchester Literary Festival, www.dorchesterliteraryfestival.com  15th to 22nd October 2022

Yeovil Literary Festival, www.yeovilliteraryfestival.co.uk   20th to 24th October 2022

Celebrate Voice,  Salisbury, www.celebratevoice.co.uk  20th to 29th October 2022

 

Purbeck Film Festival, Rex Cinema and other Purbeck venues, www.purbeckfilm.com     October dates to be announced

 

No information


Bath Film Festival, various venues, www.filmbath.org.uk  No information

Salisbury Literary Festival, www.salisburyliteraryfestival.co.uk   No information

Sherborne International Film Festival, www.shiff.org.uk  No information

 

 

******

 

NOVEMBER

Bridport Literary Festival  www.bridlit.com  6th to 12th November 2022

Bath Mozart Festival, www.bathmozartfest.org.uk  11th to 19th November 2022

Taunton Literary Festival  www.tauntonliteraryfestival.co.uk   Autumn 2022

 

******

 

DECEMBER

 

 

*********