Festivals

ARTS FESTIVALS 2017  [scroll down for food festivals]

 

JANUARY
18th to 22nd January, Bristol Slapstick Festival,  www.slapstick.org.uk

 

FEBRUARY
10th to 25th February, Theatre Fest West, www.salisburyplayhouse.com

16th to 18th February, Bath Bach Festival,  www.bathbachfest.co.uk

16th to 23rd February, Purbeck Literary Festival, www.purbeckliteraryfestival.info

 

MARCH
2nd to 5th March, Swanage Blues Festival www.swanage-blues.org

25 March to 19th November  Deverill Valley Festival, five dates TBC, www.deverillsfestival.com

 

APRIL
19th to 23rd April, From Page to Screen, Bridport, www.frompagetoscreen.org.uk

21st to 23rd April, Budleigh Salterton Jazz Festival  www.budleighjazzfestival.org

27th to 30th April, Lyme Regis Fossil Festival, www.fossilfestival.co.uk


29th April to 3rd May, Sherborne Abbey Festival, www.sherborneabbeyfestival.org


28th April and 2nd May, Bristol Folk Festival, www.bristolfolkfestival.co.uk

 

MAY
12th to 14th May, The Cursus Cider and Music Festival, Canada Farm Sixpenny Handley  www.cursusfestival.com

19th to 28th May, The Bath Festival, www.bathfestivals.org.uk

26th to 29th May, Chippenham Folk Festival, www.chippfolk.co.uk

26th May to 10th June, Ageas Salisbury International Arts Festival,  www.salisburyfestival.co.uk

26th to 28th May, Wells Comedy Festival, Little Theatre, www.longpawscomedy.co.uk

27th and 28th May, Love Saves the Day, Eastville Park Bristol, dub, soul, hiphop, etc www.lovesavestheday.org

27th May to 11th June, Purbeck Art Weeks, open studios, music, literature www.purbeckartweeks.co.uk

27th May to 2nd August, Iford Arts Festival, www.ifordarts.org.uk


28th to 30th May, Lyme Regis Jazz and Blues Weekend www.lymeregisjazzfestival.co.uk

 

JUNE
2nd to 4th June, Wessex Folk Festival, Weymouth, www.wessexfolkfestival.com

8th to 10th June, Upton House Music Festival, Bryn Terfel, Billy Ocean, Michael Bolton etc www.uptonhousemusicfestival.co.uk

8th to 11th June, Isle of Wight Festival, www.isleofwightfestival.com
Cerne Abbas Music Festival, Gaudier Ensemble www.cerneabbasmusicfestival.co.uk

9th to 11th June  Chilthorne Domer Home Farm Fest, 12th anniversary fund raiser for Piers Simon Appeal, www.homefarmfest.co.uk

15th to 18th June, Corsham, Pound Arts, Blue Sky Festival, www.blueskyfestival.org.uk

16th June to 10 September, Plush Festival, www.plushfestival.com

17th June, Petherton Folk Fest, South Petherton, www.pethertonfolkfest.org.uk

20th to 25th June, Farley Music Festival, www.farleymusic.co.uk

21st to 25th June, Glastonbury Festival of Contemporary Performing Arts www.glastonburyfestivals.co.uk


24th June to 2nd July, Beaminster Festival, www.beaminsterfestival.com

26th June to 2nd July, Chalke Valley History Festival, talks, discussions, debates, living history encampment, air show, celebration of history, writing, www.cvhf.org.uk

26th June to 29th July, Bristol Shakespeare Festival, various venues www.bristolshakespearefestival.org.uk

30th June to 2nd July, Carhampton, West Somerset Folk Festival, www.westsomersetfolkfestival.co.uk

 

 

JULY

1st July, Coker Festival, East Coker, music, local bands www.cokerfestivalofmusic.co.uk

1st and 2nd July, Grillstock Festival, Bristol Harbourside, rock with smoked and barbecued food, www.grillstock.co.uk

1st to 23rd July, Harbourside Festival, free festival, street theatre, music, circus, food, historic ships, etc www.bristolharbourfestival.co.uk

6th to 16th July, Wedmore Arts Festival, includes jazz, opera, comedy, music www.wedmoreopera.com

7th to 9th July, Priddy Folk Festival  www.priddyfolk.org

                                UK Boogie Woogie Festival, Sturminster Newton, www.ukboogiewoogiefestival.co.uk

7th to 15th July, Budleigh Salterton Music Festival, classical music, www.budleighmusicfestival.co.uk

7th to 16th July, Frome Festival, includes world food feast, open studios, bands, opera etc www.fromefestival.co.uk

Somerton Festival, www.somertonartsfestival.co.uk

9th July, Galhampton, Party in the Park, www.galhampton.com

13th to 16th July, Once Upon a Time in the West, (deepest Wiltshire near Trowbridge) music with roots, local beers and cider,  www.outwestfestival.co.uk 
2

14th to 16th July, Swanage Jazz Festival  www.swanagejazz.org
Tolpuddle Martyrs Festival, music, theatre, talks, debates, processions  www.tolpuddlemartyrs.org.uk

14th July to 9th September, BBC Proms, Royal Albert Hall, www.bbc.co.uk/proms

15th July, Godney Gathering, music, etc, www.thegodneygathering.com

15th and 16th July, Grooves on the Green, Ashley Cross Parkstone, in aid of Diverse Abilities Plus, www.groovesonthegreen.co.uk

19th to 22nd July, Southern Cathedrals Festival,  Winchester Cathedral, music, www.southerncathedralsfestival.org.uk

21st and 22nd July, Poole Beer and Bluegrass Festival, Victoria School and Gardens, www.beerandbluegrass.co.uk

21st to 23rd July, Bristol Harbour Festival, music, dance, circus, food www.bristolharbourfestival.co.uk
The Curious Arts Festival, Pylewell Park, www.curiousartsfestival.com

22nd and 23rd July, Mudeford Arts Festival, www.mudefordartsfestival.net

24th to 30th July, Taunton Live, music, theatre, exhibitions, etc  www.tauntonlive.co.uk


25th to 29th July, Dorset Opera Festival at Bryanston Coade Hall, www.dorsetopera.com

27th to 30th July, Camp Bestival, Lulworth Castle, www.campbestival.net
Womad, Marlborough Charton Park. www.womad.co.uk

28th and 29th July, FarmFest, Gilcombe Farm, Bruton, www.farmfestival.co.uk

29th to 31st July, UpFest, Bristol, celebration of urban arts www.upfest.co.uk

30th July to 3rd August, Dillington Classical Guitar Festival, www.dillington.com

 

AUGUST

4th to 11th August, Sidmouth Folk Week, www.sidmouthfolkweek.co.uk

5th August, Dorset Food and Arts Festival, Poundbury, Dorchester,  www.dorsetfestival.org

10th to 13th August, International Balloon Fiesta, balloons, music, food etc www.bristolballoonfiesta.co.uk

11th to 13th August, Bridport Folk Festival, www.bridportfolkfestival.co.uk

12th to 20th August, Burton Bradstock, Festival of Music and Art, www.burtonbradstockfestival.com 1

17th to 20th August, The Wessex Festival, Wimborne, www.thewessexfestival.co.uk

18th to 20th August, Beautiful Days, Escot Park Ottery St Mary, www.beautifuldays.org

21st to 28th August, Edington Festival of Music within the Liturgy, choral and sacred music from 16th to 21st century  www.edingtonfestival.org

24th to 27th August, Purbeck Valley Folk Festival www.purbeckvalleyfolkfestival.co.uk

31st August to 3rd September, Purbeck Chamber Music Festival, www.purbeck-chambermusic.org.uk
End of the Road Festival, www.endoftheroadfestival.com

 

Dates TBA

Sting in the Tale, Wimborne, Christchurch and East Dorset, storytelling  www.stinginthetale.org.uk

 

 

 

SEPTEMBER
1st  and 2nd September, Bridport Hat Festival, www.bridporthatfest.org

1st to 3rd September, Lyme Regis Folk Weekend,  www.lymefolk.com

1st to 10th September, Bristol Festival of Puppetry www.puppetplace.org

8th to 10th September, Swanage Folk Festival www.swanagefolkfestival.com
Stogumber, Gumbeerfest, live music, beer and cider, www.gumbeerfest.co.uk

8th to 17th September, Jane Austen Festival, Bath, www.janeaustenfestivalbath.co.uk

13th to 17th September, Torbay, International Agatha Christie Festival, www.agathachristiefestival.co.uk
Budleigh Salterton Literary Festival, www.budlitfest.org.uk

23rd September, Yeovil Super Saturday, www.southsomerset.gov.uk

23rd September to 8th October, Somerset Art Weeks, www.somersetartworks.org.uk

29th September to 8th October, Children’s Literature Festival, Bath, www.bathfestivals.org.uk
ArtsFest, Lyme Regis, www.lymeregisartsfest.com

 

 

 

OCTOBER

5th to 8th October, Swanage Blues Festival www.swanage-blues.org

11th to 15th October, Sherborne Literary Festival, www.sherborneliterarysociety.com/festival

13th to 21st October, Two Moors Festival www.thetwomoorsfestival.co.uk


13th to 28th October, Screen Bites Food Film Festival  www.screenbites.co.uk
Purbeck Film Festival, Rex Cinema and other Purbeck venues, www.purbeckfilm.com

14th to 21st October, Arts by the Sea, various venues, www.artsbournemouth.org.uk

14th to 23rd October, Wells Festival of Literature, www.wellsfestivalofliterature.org.uk

18th to 22nd October, Dorchester Literary Festival, www.dorchesterliteraryfestival.com

26th to 29th October, Yeovil Literary Festival, www.yeovilliteraryfestival.co.uk

 

 

NOVEMBER

2nd to 12th November, Bath Film Festival, various venues, www.bathfilmfestival.org.uk

5th to 12th November, Bridport Literary Festival, www.bridlit.com

10th to 18th November, Bath Mozart Festival, www.bathmozartfest.org.uk

 

DECEMBER

 

*********

 

FOOD FESTIVALS and FAIRS 2017

Please send us your food fair and festival details if you are not already listed here – info@nulltheftr.co.uk

 

APRIL

Saturday 8 April
Eat Weston, Weston Super Mare food festival  www.eatfestivals.org

Saturday 8th and Sunday 9th April
Budleigh Salterton Food Festival, www.budleighfoodanddrink.org.uk

Saturday 29th April to Monday 1st May
Exeter Festival of South West Food & Drink www.exeterfoodanddrinkfestival.co.uk

Saturday 29th April
Dorset Venison and Food Festival, Lytchett Minster, www.dorsetvenisonfestival.org

Sunday 30th April
Dorset Knob Throwing & Food Festival, Kingston Maurward (new venue)  www.dorsetknobthrowing.com

 

MAY

Monday 1st May
Blandford Food and Beer Festival, Crown Hotel www.blandfordfoodfestival.co.uk

Saturday 6th and Sunday 7th May
Christchurch Food Festival, www.christchurchfoodfestival.co.uk

Friday 12th and Saturday 13th May
Eat Taunton, www.eatfestivals.org

Saturday 13th to Sunday 21st May
Devizes Food and Drink Festival, www.devizesfoodanddrinkfestival.info

Sunday 14th May
Shaftesbury Festival, www.shaftesburyfestival.co.uk

Thursday 18th to Saturday 20th May
Devon County Show, Westpoint, Exeter www.devoncountyshow.co.uk

Saturday 20th and Sunday 21st May
Devon Chilli Fiesta, Rosemoor Gardens, www.rhs.org.uk
Highcliffe Revival Food Festival, www.highclifferevivalfoodfestival.co.uk
Spring Tide, the Jurassic Food Festival, Hive Beach, Burton Bradstock www.hivebeachcafe.co.uk
VegFest, (biggest vegan event in Europe) Bristol www.bristol.vegfest.co.uk

Saturday 27th May
Eat Burnham on Sea, www.eatfestivals.org

Monday 29th May
Sherborne Country Fair, www.sherbornecountryfair.com

Wednesday 31st May to Saturday 3rd June
Royal Bath and West Show, Bath and West showground, Shepton Mallet www.bathandwest.com

 

JUNE

Thursday 8th to Saturday 10th June
Bristol Food Connections Festival www.bristolfoodconnections.com

Saturday 10th and Sunday 11th June
Swanage Fish Festival, www.swanagefishfest.org

Sunday 11th to Saturday 17th June
Bridport Food Festival, www.bridportfoodfestival.com

Friday 16th to Sunday 25th June
Bournemouth Food and Drink Festival www.bournemouthfoodanddrink.co.uk

Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th June
Bournemouth Vegan Fair, www.dorsetveganevents.co.uk

Sunday 18th June
Evershot County Fair, www.evershot.org

 

JULY

Saturday 8th July
Frome World Food Feast (part of Frome Festival) www.fromefestival.co.uk

Saturday 8th and Sunday 9th July
Dorset Seafood Festival, Weymouth www.dorsetseafood.co.uk

Sunday 16th July
Church Knowle Food Fayre www.dorsetaonb.org.uk

Wednesday 25th to Friday 27th July
New Forest Show, Brockenhurst www.newforestshow.co.uk

Saturday 29th July
Leigh Food Fair, Leigh near Sherborne www.dorsetaonb.org.uk

 

AUGUST

Saturday 5th and Sunday 6th July
Great Dorset Chilli Festival, St Giles House park, Wimborne St Giles  www.greatdorsetchillifestival.co.uk

Saturday 5th August
Dorset Food & Arts Festival, Poundbury www.dorsetfestival.org

Wednesday 16th August
Gillingham & Shaftesbury Show www.gillshaftshow.co.u
Saturday 19th and Sunday 20th August
Food Rocks, Lyme Regis

Thursday 24th August
Melplash Show www.melplashshow.co.uk

Saturday 26th and Sunday 27th August
River Cottage Festival, Uplyme, www.rivercottage.net

 

SEPTEMBER

Friday 1st and Saturday 2nd September
Wessex Beer Festival. www.wessexbeerfestival.co.uk

Saturday 2nd September
Eat Wellington, www.eatfestivals.org

Saturday 2nd and Sunday 3rd September
Dorset County Show, Dorchester www.dorsetcountyshow.co.uk

Saturday 9th and Sunday 10th September
Sturminster Newton Cheese Festival www.cheesefestival.co.uk

Saturday 23rd and Sunday 24th September
Plymouth Seafood Festival www.visitplymouth.co.uk

 

OCTOBER

Sunday 8th October
Wells Food Festival www.wellsfoodfestival.co.uk

Friday 13th to Saturday 28th October
Screen Bites Food Film Festival www.screenbites.co.uk

Friday 20th to Sunday 22nd October
Dartmouth Food Festival www.dartmouthfoodfestival.com

Saturday 21st October
Wimborne Food & Drink Festival
Eat Burnham, www.eatfestivals.org

Saturday 21st to Monday 30th October
Dorset Food Week, www.dorsetaonb.org.uk

 

NOVEMBER

Saturday 25th and Sunday 26th November
Dorset Food & Drink Christmas Fair, Athelhampton House www.dorsetaonb.org.uk

 

DECEMBER

December
Sturminster Newton Producers Christmas Market www.dorsetaonb.org.uk  TBC