Arts Festivals

ARTS and LITERARY FESTIVALS 2021 (and 2022)

Some of this years’ festivals have been cancelled or postponed to later in the year or to 2022. Check with the festivals’ websites for the latest information. Apologies for the very late update.

 

JANUARY

Bristol Slapstick Festival,  www.slapstick.org.ukNo information

******

FEBRUARY

Next year

Bath Bach Festival,  www.bathbachfest.co.uk  Thursday 17th to Saturday 19th February 2022

******

MARCH

Bristol Bluegrass and Americana Festival, www.bristolfolkhouse.co.uk. No information

******

APRIL

Next year

Bristol Folk Festival    www.bristolfolkfestival.co.uk.  29 April to 1 May 2022

******

MAY

Wylye Valley Art Trail,  biennial event, open studios, workshops  etc   www.wvat.co.uk  1st to 9th May 2021 – next in 2023

Swindon Spring Festival, www.swindonspringfestival.co.uk   3rd to 9th May 2021

The Bath Festival, www.bathfestivals.org.uk.  17th to 24th May and 7th and 8th August 2021

Dorset Art Weeks, www.dorsetartweeks.co.uk  22nd May to 6th June 2021

Od Arts Festival, East and West Coker@odartsfest,   27th May to 6th June 2021

Bath Fringe Festival, www.bathfringe.co.uk. inc Bedlam fair, from 28th May 2021

 

Next year

Lyme Regis Fossil Festival, www.fossilfestival.co.uk  5th and 6th May 2022

Dart Music Festival, www.dartmusicfestival.co.uk  6th to 8th May 2022

Shindig Weekender, Gilcombe Farm, Bruton, music and comedy, www.shindigfestival.co.uk 26th to 29th May 2022  

Chippenham Folk Festival, www.chippfolk.co.uk  27th to 29th May 2022

Plymouth Fringe Festival, theatre, dance, comedy, music: www.plymouthfringe.com Back in 2022 

 

No information

The Cursus Cider and Music Festival, Canada Farm Sixpenny Handley  www.cursusfestival.com No information

Devizes Arts Festival, multi arts festival, www.devizesartsfestival.org.uk No information

Exmouth Festival, www.exmouthfestival.org.uk  No information

Salisbury International Arts Festival, www.wiltshirecreative.co.uk No information

Wimborne Literary Festival, www.wimborneliteraryfestival.co.uk  No information


******

 

JUNE


Blue Sky Festival, Corsham, Pound Arts,  www.blueskyfestival.org.uk  5th to 11th July 2021

Chalke Valley History Festival, talks, discussions, debates, living history encampment, air show, celebration of history, writing, www.cvhf.org.uk  23rd to 27th June 2021

Bournemouth Emerging Arts Fringe  www.b-e-a-f.co.uk   26th June to 4th July 2021

Farley Music Festival, www.farleymusic.co.uk 29th June to 4th July 2021

 

Next year

Jazz Jurassica, Lyme Regis, www.jazzjurassica.co.uk  2nd to 5th June 2022

Wimborne Minster Folk Festival,  www.wimbornefolk.co.uk  10th to 12th June 2022
Chilthorne Domer Home Farm Fest,  fund-raiser for Piers Simon Appeal, www.homefarmfest.co.uk  10th to 12th June 2022

Wessex Folk Festival, Weymouth, www.wessexfolkfestival.com  Back in June 2022

Petherton Folk Fest, South Petherton, www.pethertonfolkfest.org.uk  Back in June 2022

Glastonbury Festival of Contemporary Performing Arts, www.glastonburyfestivals.co.uk  Back in 2022

Beaminster Festival, www.beaminsterfestival.com  Back in June 2022

Teignmouth Folk Festival, www.teignmouthfolk.co.uk  Back in June 2022

 

 

No information

East Devon Music Festival, various venues, jazz and classical music. www.eastdevonmusicfestival.org  No information

 

******

 

JULY

Bridgwater Quayside Festival, music, street and indoor theatre, carnival, circus, puppetry, dance, etc,   www.bridgwaterquaysidefestival.uk July-August 2021 VARIOUS DAYS, FREE EVENTS

Somerton Festival and Somerstock Festival, www.somertonartsfestival.co.uk  2nd to 10th July 2021

Frome Festival, includes world food feast, open studios, bands, opera etc www.fromefestival.co.uk  2nd to 11th July 2021    

Southern Cathedrals Festival,  Winchester Cathedral, music, www.southerncathedralsfestival.org.uk  16th and 17th July 2021

Tolpuddle Martyrs Festival, music, theatre, talks, debates, processions  www.tolpuddlemartyrs.org.uk 16th to 18th July 2021

 Dorset Opera Festival, Coade Hall, Bryanston, www.dorsetopera.com  19th to 24th July 2021

Chagstock Music Festival, Chagford,  www.chagstock.info 23rd and 24th July 2021

Camp Bestival, Lulworth Castle, www.campbestival.net 29th July to 1st August 2021

Valley Fest, Chew Magna, music and food, www.valleyfest.co.uk  29th July to 1st August 2021

FarmFest,
Gilcombe Farm, Bruton. www.farmfestival.co.uk  30th and 31st July 2021

Sidmouth Folk Week, www.sidmouthfolkweek.co.uk  30th July to 6th August 2021

BBC Proms, Royal Albert Hall, www.bbc.co.uk/proms 30th July to 11th September 2021            

 

Next year

New Forest Folk Festival, Plaitford nr Romsey, Powells Farm, www.newforestfolkfestival.co.uk  6th to 10th July 2022

Priddy Folk Festival  www.priddyfolk.org 8th to 10th July 2022

Swanage Jazz Festival  www.swanagejazzfestival.co.uk  8th to 10th July 2022

Godney Gathering, music, etc, www.thegodneygathering.com 15th and 16th July 2022

Womad, Marlborough, Charlton Park. www.womad.co.uk  28th to 31st July 2022

UK Boogie Woogie Festival, Sturminster Newton, www.ukboogiewoogiefestival.co.uk Back in 2022

Cerne Abbas Music Festival, Gaudier Ensemble www.cerneabbasmusicfestival.co.uk  Back in 2022

Budleigh Salterton Music Festival, classical music, www.budleighmusicfestival.co.uk Back in July 2022

Harbourside Festival, free festival, street theatre, music, circus, food, historic ships, etc www.bristolharbourfestival.co.uk  July 2022

 

No information

Coker Festival, East Coker, music, local bands www.cokerfestivalofmusic.co.uk  No information

Larmer Tree Festival, Tollard Royal, www.larmertreefestival.co.uk  No information

NewtFest, North Newton, beer, cider and music, www.newtfest.com No information

Poole Beer and Bluegrass Festival, Victoria School and Gardens, www.beerandbluegrass.co.uk  No information


 

******

 

AUGUST

 

International Balloon Fiesta, balloons, music, food etc www.bristolballoonfiesta.co.uk  2nd to 15th August 2021

Dillington Classical Guitar Festival, www.dillington.com  3rd to 5th August 2021

Weston super Mare Sea Shanty and Folk Music Festival   www.wsmshantyfest.com   6to to 8th August 2021

Dorset Food and Arts Festival, Poundbury, Dorchester, www.dorsetfestival.org  7th August 2021

Grooves on the Green, Ashley Cross Parkstone, in aid of Diverse Abilities Plus, www.groovesonthegreen.co.uk  7th and 8th August 2021

Bridport Folk Festival, www.bridportfolkfestival.co.uk 14th and 15th August 2021

Purbeck Valley Folk Festival www.purbeckvalleyfolkfestival.co.uk  19th to 22nd August 2021

Beautiful Days, Escot Park, Ottery St Mary, www.beautifuldays.org  20th to 22nd August 2021

Iford Arts Festival,   www.ifordarts.org.uk  21/22 and 28-30 August and 18 Sept 2021 

Edington Festival of Music within the Liturgy, choral and sacred music from 16th to 21st century, www.edingtonfestival.org 26th to 29th August 2021

Lyme Regis Folk Weekend, www.lymefolk.com  27th to 30th August 202

Victorious Festival, Portsmouth,  www.victoriousfestival.co.uk  27th to 29th August 2021

Watchet Music Festival, www.watchetfestival.co.uk  27th to 29th August 2021

Shaftesbury Fringe, multi arts, www.shaftesburyfringe.co.uk  27th to 30th August 2021

 

No information

Burton Bradstock Festival of Music and Art www.burtonbradstockfestival.com  No information

 

******

 

SEPTEMBER

B-Side, Portland, multi media arts festival, www.b-side.org.uk  Biennial    2nd to 5th September 2021

End of the Road Festival, www.endoftheroadfestival.com  2nd to 5th September 2021

Purbeck Chamber Music Festival, www.purbeck-chambermusic.org.uk    2nd to 5th September 2021

Once Upon a Time in the West, (deepest Wiltshire near Trowbridge) music, local beers and cider, www.outwestfestival.co.uk  3rd and 4th September 2021

Vicari0us Festival, travel and photography, Sparkford www.vicariousfestival.com   3rd to 5th September 2021

Bridport Hat Festival, www.bridporthatfest.org 4th September 2021

Glastonbury Abbey Extravaganza, Van Morrison, The Staves, www.glastonburyfestivals.co.uk/information/glastonbury-abbey-extravaganza,  4th September 2021

Swanage Folk Festival www.swanagefolkfestival.com 10th to 12th September 2021

Jane Austen Festival, Bath, www.janeaustenfestivalbath.co.uk 10th to 19th September 2021

International Agatha Christie Festival, Torbay, www.iacf-uk.org  11th to 18th September 2021

Purbeck Art Weeks, open studios, music, literature: www.purbeckartweeks.co.uk  11th to 26th September 2021

Budleigh Salterton Literary Festival, www.budlitfest.org.uk   15th to 19th September 2021

Isle of Wight Festival, www.isleofwightfestival.com 16th to 19th September 2021

Somerset Open Studios,  www.somersetartworks.org.uk  18th September to 3rd October 2021

Sherborne Abbey Festival, www.sherborneabbeyfestival.org   24th to 26th September 2021

Wedmore Arts Festival,   www.wedmoreartsfestival.co.uk. 24th to 26th September 2021  and May 2022

Bath Children’s Literature Festival www.bathfestivals.org.uk/childrens-literature  24th September to 3rd October 2021

Marlborough Literature Festival, www.marlboroughlitfest.org 30th September to 3rd October 2021

Swanage Blues Festival  www.swanage-blues.org,   30th September to 3rd October 2021

 

Next year

Priston Music Festival, www.priston.org.uk  Back in 2022

 

No information

Didmarton Bluegrass Festival, www.didmarton-bluegrass.co.uk  No information

 

******

 

OCTOBER

Arts by the Sea, various venues, www.artsbournemouth.org.uk  1st to 3rd October 2021

Two Moors Festival, 
www.thetwomoorsfestival.co.uk
    1st to 10th October 2021

Dorchester Literary Festival, www.dorchesterliteraryfestival.com  9th to 16th October 2021

Mere Literary Festival.  www.mereliteraryfestival.com   11th to 15th October 2021

Wells Festival of Literature, www.wellsfestivalofliterature.org.uk  15th to 23rd October 2021

Yeovil Literary Festival,
www.yeovilliteraryfestival.co.uk   21st to 23rd October 2021

Celebrate Voice,  Salisbury, www.celebratevoice.co.uk  21st to 24th and 28th to 30th October 2021

Sherborne Literary Festival, www.sherborneliterarysociety.com/festival   20th to 22nd October 2021

Sherborne International Film Festival, www.shiff.org.uk  21st to 24th October 2021

Purbeck Film Festival, Rex Cinema and other Purbeck venues, www.purbeckfilm.com   22nd to 31st October 2021

Bath Film Festival, various venues, www.filmbath.org.uk 28th October to 7th November 2021


No information

From Page to Screen, Bridport,  www.frompagetoscreen.org.uk   No information

Salisbury Literary Festival, www.salisburyliteraryfestival.co.uk   No information

******

 

NOVEMBER
Bridport Literary Festival  www.bridlit.com 7th to 13th November 2021

Bath Mozart Festival, www.bathmozartfest.org.uk 13th to 20th November 2021

 

Next year


Taunton Literary Festival  www.tauntonliteraryfestival.co.uk Back in Autumn 2022

 

******

 

DECEMBER

 

 

*********